Do you believe the data in the China Study? I’m pretty certain I do.

Cover of "The China Study: The Most Compr...

Cover via Amazon

My PSA hasn’t changed but should I still worry?
In yesterday’s post I talked about my PSA trend. I have the data from yesterday’s test and graphed it against my tests since April 2007 [see below].

As you can see, the values have varied from a low of zero (undetectable) to a high of .06. The trend line is a logarithmic trend that indicates the value is trending ever so slightly down. M question, of course, is “why do I have a PSA value at all since my prostate was removed in May of 2003?”

My doctors have told me that there are several possible reasons: 1) they missed a bit of prostate tissue during the surgery and it may not be cancerous, and 2) there are other sources of PSA in the body [I haven’t found these sources as of yet in my research].

I watch this number like a hawk because I would like to stay on this planet as long as I can.

wpid-psatests_10042011-2011-10-4-16-551.png

Reviewing this data, it seems to me that there clearly is a source of PSA. The question are where and why?

Should I worry?
Here’s a quote from information posted on the Phoenix 5 website:

Begin quote
“The only thing that really matters, he says, is: ”At what PSA levels does the concentration indicate that the patient has had a recurrence of cancer?” For Chan, and the scientists and physicians at Hopkins, the number to take seriously is 0.2 nanograms/milliliter. ”That’s something we call biochemical recurrence. But even this doesn’t mean that a man has symptoms yet. People need to understand that it might take months or even years before there is any clinical physical evidence.”

On a technical level, in the laboratory, Chan trusts the sensitivity of assays down to 0. 1, or slightly less than that. ”You cannot reliably detect such a small amount as 0.01,” he explains. ”From day to day, the results could vary — it could be 0.03, or maybe even 0.05” — and these ”analytical” variations may not mean a thing. ”It’s important that we don’t assume anything or take action on a very low level of PSA. In routine practice, because of these analytical variations from day to day, if it’s less than 0. 1, we assume it’s the same as nondetectable, or zero.”
End Quote

I’m not convinced that I don’t need to worry. Mainly, I guess, because I’m the only one with skin in the game. If medical science is wrong, I’m out of the game but the doctors aren’t.  I’ll keep researching this.

How cheese and chicken changed my life
I’m about 40 percent through the China Study and I’m stunned at what I have read. The thesis is that milk products (casein) and animal protein have a dramatically adverse affect on health and actually allow cancer (and other diseases) to progress in the body.

The chart below shows my LDL cholesterol (bad cholesterol) for the period Nov 2007 to October 2011. Following my surgery in May 2003 I adopted a strict vegetarian diet, with the exception of fish. I dropped all dairy products, including my beloved cheese, all sugars, and animal protein except for fish – mostly tuna.  My weight dropped from 165 to 144 (I’m 5′ 10″) which is almost optimal for me.

wpid-ldl_10042011-2011-10-4-16-551.png
My LDL values – 11/2007 – 10/2011

As you can see, in late 2007 my LDL hit a low of 65. I was in great shape, riding my bicycle about 300 miles per month (I still do).

In November 2007, 4.5 years after surgery, I relaxed my diet to include cheese, chicken, and the occasional red steak. I knew my cholesterol was creeping up because the last two blood tests indicated my LDL was borderline high.

I wasn’t until I began reading the China Study that I decided to see if my personal data matched the data in the book. Guess what? It does! My LDL has increased 65% over the past 48 months just from cheese and chicken – I don’t drink any milk at all. That’s a whopping 1.36% percent per month! I wish my investments did something like that.

How the China Study will help
I’m on the fast track to finish the book and get my nutritional life back in order. I’ll be posting more comments and experiences as I progress through the book.

Bookmark this blog and come back from time to time and see how I’m doing.

If any of you have read the book, I would like to hear your thoughts and experiences.

Warm regards, Robert

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Diagnostic tools, Diet and Lifestyle, PSA testing, vegetarian diet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

