What will my PSA be today?

What will the PSA number read?
In a few minutes I’m headed off for my semi-annual doctor’s visit and blood test series that includes that all important PSA test.

I’m at the 8.5 year point as a prostate cancer survivor and statistics tell me that I am approaching the period when my prostate cancer may recur. I’ve read statistics that 15 years is the recurrence point, but it’s possible that some of the new detection technologies may give me more early warning.

As I move forward in time, every PSA test becomes more important, at least in my mind. My PSA was undetectable at two decimal places for the first five years and since then has been bouncing around .06, .03, .02, .04. My doctors tells me that this is due to the routine statistical error in the testing protocol, but I’m sure. I track these numbers in an Excel spreadsheet and put a trend line on the results as I add each new data point.

How to prevent recurrence
As will all survivors, recurrence is the monkey on my back. I believe that my exercise and nutritional habits are the best tools I have at hand to influence that outcome.

I’m 5’10” and I’ve managed to keep my weight right around 150 pounds since my surgery. I confess to getting back into the dairy and meat last year, which caused my weight to spike to 156, but I’m under control again.

I’ve read a lot of books on this subject and I’m now working my way through The China Study by T. Colin Campbell. I’m only about a quarter of the way through the book but the science seems pretty solid and message is pretty clear; what we eat is killing us.

More later. Off to the doc.

You are Not Alone Now
The YANANOWwebsite is an important resource for prostate cancer survivors.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

